DFS Home‎ > ‎Latest News‎ > ‎

Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) benefits available for Johnson and Niobrara Counties

posted Aug 18, 2015, 2:11 PM by vfe_dfs_jill.andersen@wyo.gov
The Wyoming Department of Family Services (DFS) has announced that the Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) is available for residents of Johnson and Niobrara Counties who suffered impacts related to the early June flooding.  DFS will accept applications beginning August 24, 2015 through August 28, 2015 in Lusk and Buffalo, Wyoming DFS offices.

D-SNAP provides temporary food assistance for households affected by a natural disaster.  D-SNAP provides one month of benefits to eligible disaster survivors and can facilitate the issuance of supplemental SNAP benefits for current SNAP recipients.  D-SNAP benefits can be used to purchase food for human consumption, but cannot be used to buy alcoholic beverages, tobacco or non-food items.

Residents do not need to be current recipients of the SNAP program to apply for or be eligible for Disaster SNAP.

Residents do not need to register with FEMA to be eligible for this program.  If you suffered  disaster related costs, you may be eligible.  

Residents of one of the two affected counties who would not be eligible under the regular SNAP rules may qualify temporarily if:  
•    They had un-reimbursed disaster-related expenses, or
•    They had a loss or reduction of income as a result of the disaster.  

Some residents who currently receive SNAP may be eligible for supplemental benefits. If you did not request a replacement for June benefits, you must complete an affidavit for supplemental benefits. A supplement will automatically be added to the EBT card of current SNAP recipients who completes an affidavit. Affidavits are available at the Lusk and Buffalo DFS offices, online at dfsweb.state.wy.us, or you may request one by mail by contacting the Lusk or Buffalo DFS offices.

Residents who were impacted by the disaster can apply for DSNAP program at the following offices from August 24, 2015 through August 28, 2015, hours of operation M-F 8:00am – 5:00pm:

Buffalo Department of Family Services
381 N. Main Street
Buffalo, Wyoming 82834
(307) 684-5513

Lusk Department of Family Services
905 S. Main Street
Lusk, Wyoming 82225
(307) 334-2153

For more information on program eligibility or to apply for assistance, please contact the Buffalo or Lusk DFS office.

Please bring the following items with you when applying for Disaster SNAP:
Proof of identity for person applying such as driver’s license or other picture ID,
Proof of residence in the affected county at the time of the disaster,
Proof of assets such as checking and savings accounts as of 6/04/15 (Niobrara) & 6/03/15         
Proof of all income received between 6/04/15-7/03/15 (Niobrara) & 6/03/15 - 7/02/15 (Johnson). 
        Examples: wage stubs or self-employment ledger, and
Verification of  disaster related expenses paid between 6/04/15-7/03/15 (Niobrara) & 6/03/15 - 
        7/02/15 (Johnson). Examples: home or business repairs, evacuation expenses, temporary 
        shelter expenses, disaster related pet boarding fees, clean-up items, disaster damaged vehicle 
        expenses & storage expenses. 
*If you do not have any or all of the items listed above, you may still apply for Disaster SNAP benefits.
Persons who purposely provide false information on a D-SNAP application may be denied benefits and legal action may be taken.

All D-SNAP applications will be checked for duplication.  If you violate the D-SNAP rules, you may be disqualified from the program, fined up to $250,000 and/or put in jail for up to 20 years.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer.